JHU Faculty Advisory Board

  • Beverly Silver

    Beverly Silver

    Director, Arrighi Center for Global Studies
    Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology
    PhD, SUNY, Binghamton

    410-516-7635 silver@jhu.edu Mergenthaler 513 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Historical capitalism, comparative and world-historical research methods, global inequality and development, labor and social movements

  • Sara Berry

    Sara Berry

    Professor Emeritus, Department of History
    PhD, University of Michigan

    sberry@jhu.edu Gilman 372 Personal Website

  • Ho-Fung Hung

    Ho-Fung Hung

    Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
    PhD, Johns Hopkins University

    410-516-7051 hofung@jhu.edu Mergenthaler 523 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Global political economy, contentious politics, nationalism, and social theory

  • M. Ali Khan

    M. Ali Khan

    Abram Hutzler Professor of Political Economy, Department of Economics
    PhD, Yale University

    410-516-8545 akhan@jhu.edu Wyman Park 528 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Mathematical economics, economic theory, history of economic thought, international and development economics

  • Christopher Nealon

    Christopher Nealon

    Professor and Chair, Department of English
    PhD, Cornell University

    410-516-6046 nealon@jhu.edu Gilman 18 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  American literature, aesthetic theory, poetry and poetics, intellectual history

  • Gabriel Paquette

    Director, Program in Latin American Studies; Professor, Department of History
    PhD, University of Cambridge

    410-516-7575 gabriel.paquette@jhu.edu Gilman 322 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  European, Latin American, and Global History, with a focus on the Portuguese and Spanish empires

  • Deborah Poole

    Professor, Department of Anthropology (on leave)
    PhD, University of Illinois

    410-516-5228 dpoole@jhu.edu Mergenthlaer 469 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Historical and ethnographic study of politics, Latin America

  • Erica Schoenberger

    Erica Schoenberger

    Professor, Department of Geography Environmental Engineering, Whiting School of Engineering
    Ph, University of California, Berkeley

    410-516-6158 ericas@jhu.edu Ames 501 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Economic geography, environmental history, environmental politics and policy, history of mining, history of the automobile, interdisciplinary scientific collaboration

  • Lester Spence

    Lester Spence

    Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
    PhD, University of Michigan

    410-516-7537 unbowed@gmail.com Mergenthaler 273 Personal Website

    Research Interests:  American politics, black politics, race and politics, urban politics, American political behavior and public opinion