Three Krieger School Professors Named AAAS Fellows

L to R: Timothy Heckman, Mark Kamionkowski, Stephen Nichols

Three professors from the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences are among the 198 new members elected to the 2013 class of American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a group that includes past winners of the Nobel Prize; the National Medal of Science; the Lasker Award; Pulitzer and Shaw prizes; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards.

This year’s honorees from the Krieger School are Timothy Heckman, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy who studies astrophysics, active galaxies, and quasars; Mark Kamionkowski, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy whose research is in cosmology, astrophysics, and elementary-particle theory; and Stephen Nichols, a professor of French and humanities who specializes in medieval literature, art, and history.

The new members, announced Wednesday, bring the number of AAAS members currently on the Johns Hopkins faculty to 51.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Heckman, Kamionkowski, and Nichols will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 12 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass., alongside other new fellows, including Bruce A. Beutler, recipient of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; David J. Wineland, winner of the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics; actors Robert De Niro and Sally Field; Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Annie Dillard; operatic soprano RenĂ©e Fleming; jazz musician Herbie Hancock; singer-songwriters Pete Seeger and Bruce Springsteen; Senator Richard Lugar; and astronaut, former Senator, and Presidential Medal of Freedom winner John Glenn.

A complete list of the new members can be viewed here.