People Directory

Jump to:  Full-time Faculty | Adjunct, Affiliated and Visiting Faculty | Postdoctoral FellowsGraduate Student Teaching FellowsStaff

Full-time Faculty

Program Director
Erin Chung (Ph.D, Northwestern) studies the politics of East Asia, with particular interests in citizenship, immigration, and civil society in Japan and South Korea.
Phone: (410) 516-4496
Email: echung@jhu.edu
Office: Mergenthaler 365

Joel Andreas (Ph.D, UCLA) is a sociologist studying social change in China since 1949, focusing on the institutional foundations of social inequality.
Phone: (410) 516-7325
Email:  jandreas@jhu.edu
Office: Mergenthaler 554

Rebecca M. Brown (Ph.D, University of Minnesota) focuses on questions of politics and modernity in the visual culture of South Asia from the 18th century to the present; her teaching includes the art of East, Southeast, and South Asia since antiquity.
Email: rmbrown@jhu.edu
Phone: (410) 516-0345
Office: Gilman 182

Yulia Frumer (Ph.D, Princeton Univ.) is a historian of science in East Asia, specifically Japan. Her focus is on the role of artifacts, and especially instruments, in the process of conceptualization of the surrounding world.
Phone: (609) 423-5201
Email: yfrumer@jhu.edu
Office: Gilman 380

Marta Hanson (Ph.D, UPenn) is an historian of medicine in late imperial China who works on the history of disease, epidemics, regionalism, gender, publishing, and the interaction between elite and vernacular knowledge of Chinese medicine.
Phone: (410) 955-4879
Email: mhanson4@jhmi.edu
Office:
Welch Library, 3rd floor
Lingxin Hao (Ph.D, Univ. of Chicago) is a sociologist studying rural-to-urban migration and its impact on social inequality in China.
Phone: (410) 516-4022
Email: hao@jhu.edu
Office: Mergenthaler 509
Ho-Fung Hung (Ph.D, Johns Hopkins Univ.) studies capitalist development, state formation, and protest in China and Asia at large from global and long-term historical perspectives.
Phone: (410) 516-7051
Email: hofung@jhu.edu
Office: Mergenthaler 541
Tobie Meyer-Fong (Ph.D, Stanford) studies the history of late imperial and modern China, with particular focus on issues of conflict, commemoration, and literary culture.
Email:  tmeyerf@jhu.edu
Office: Gilman 330C
William T. Rowe (Ph.D, Columbia) is an historian of late imperial and modern China, with interests in urban and rural social organization, violence, and the history of Chinese political thought.
Telephone:  (410) 516-7580
Email: 
wtrowe@jhu.edu
Office: Gilman 324
Kellee S. Tsai (Ph.D, Columbia) is a political scientist who specializes in the domestic politics of contemporary China, with interests in the political economy of development, finance, and informal institutions.
Telephone: (410) 516-7972
Email: ktsai@jhu.edu

Office: Mergenthaler 337