International Studies Leadership Council

The International Studies Leadership Council (ISLC) is comprised of students who work directly with the program director and associated faculty with the purpose of bringing greater unity and direction to the IS major and program. The ISLC acts as a liaison between students and faculty, works to organize events, listens to student opinions and recommendations, and works to publicize news, information, and opportunities across campus and around the world. They also have the chance to share their thoughts on and experiences with the International Studies Program at Hopkins via the student blog. To be eligible to serve, you must be a declared international studies major or a freshman intending to declare a major in international studies.

The ISLC also coordinates the International Studies Program membership with the Baltimore Council on Foreign Affairs. As a member of the BCFA, international studies majors are entitled to the following privileges:

  • Attendance to all programs free of charge
  • Invitations to all “dutch treat” Leadership Dinners
  • Receipt of a quarterly newsletter and notification of each program
  • Guaranteed reservations for all events
  • Guest privileges for all programs and Leadership Dinners
  • Substitution privileges for all programs and Leadership Dinners

For more information about the BCFA or to attend one of their events, contact the ISLC leadership.

2017-2018 ISLC Members and Committees

Serena Frechter, Co-Director
Sarah Fauska, Co-Director

Speakers Committee

William Klink (Chair)
Jake Morris
Sofia Schonenberg
Yi Zheng
Caroline Kim
Alex Mejia
Simran Suri

Social Committee

Caroline Lupetini (Chair)
Sonak Kolar
Sophie Mirviss
Lexie Botzum
Cristian Aguirre
Spencer Abrohms
Katie Wick

Communications Committee

Kuan Hian Tan (Chair)
Alexandra Marksteiner
David Saveliev
Lucy Massey
William Engfer
Zubeyde Oysul
Preston Coffin

Outreach/External Relations Committee

David Hamburger (Chair)
Anthony Boutros
Colleen Anderson
Louis Burns
Luke McGeown
Malika Dia
Megan Rutkai
Naushil Mehta

IS Relations Committee

Renee Robinson (Chair)
Artur Barkan
Ashley Wax
Jamie Oh
Juliann Susas
Peyton Blackstock

International Studies Journal

Elizabeth Duncan (Chair)
Bonnie Jin
Franz Osilia Rincones
Gabriela Baghdady
Lindsay Ofori
Nicole Kiker

Independent Projects

Zach Wheeler