These bodies provide a mechanism for faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences to participate more effectively in the deliberations and governance at Johns Hopkins University.

Shared Governance Council

The Shared Governance Council (SGC) is an advisory body whose purpose is to bring faculty, administration and students together for the development and review of policies and issues that affect the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences as a whole. This body, which consists of 18 voting members that reflect the range of disciplines and faculty roles within them, plays a critical role in decision-making within KSAS.

Upcoming Meetings

  • April 24, 2023
  • May 15, 2023


Non-Voting Members

  • Chris Cannon, Vice Dean for Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Bertrand Garcia-Moreno, Vice Dean for Natural Sciences
  • Mary Favret, Vice Dean for Graduate Education, and Centers and Programs
  • Erin Rowe, Vice Dean for Undergraduate Education
  • Kofi Ofori, Senior Associate Dean for Finance and Administration
  • Bess Vincent, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives


Subcommittee on Centers, Programs and Institutes

The subcommittee will advise the dean on policies governing the various centers, programs, and institutes within KSAS. It will work to develop mechanisms to facilitate the creation and regular review of these entities to ensure that each has a viable structure, clear goals, and healthy faculty involvement. The subcommittee will consult on requests for the formation of new programs or centers and for the closure of existing programs and centers.


  • Linda DeLibero, Senior Lecturer, Film and Media Studies
  • Jennifer Kingsley, Associate Teaching Professor and Director, Program in Museums and Society 
  • Matt Pavesich, Teaching Professor and Director, University Writing Program
  • Lingxin Hao, Professor, Sociology; and Director, Hopkins Population Center (SGC member)
  • Peter Armitage, Professor, Physics and Astronomy (SGC member)

Subcommittee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The subcommittee will assist the Dean’s Office in reviewing the departmental diversity action plans, their evaluation metrics, and identifying areas for improvement, requesting revisions where necessary. The subcommittee will help the Dean’s Office to develop accountability measures to ensure progress toward goals in the Second JHU Roadmap on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.


  • Shane Butler, Professor, Classics (SGC member)
  • Jennifer Culbert, Associate Professor, Political Science
  • JaQuon Epps, PhD Student, Sociology 
  • Sarah Hörst, Associate Professor, Earth & Planetary Sciences
  • Muhammad Husain, Associate Teaching Professor, Economics
  • Michael Kwass, Professor, History
  • Sunita Thyagarajan, Sr. Lecturer, Chemistry

Subcommittee on Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs

The subcommittee will advise the dean on academic policy concerning graduate programs in KSAS, including the creation of new degrees, and on policies regarding the experience of postdoctoral fellows. It will consult as well on matters of mentoring, funding, climate, and student affairs for our graduate programs. In the first two years of its formation, the subcommittee will focus especially on the future of the PhD and how best it can serve the needs of students and of 21st century society.


  • Ona Ambrozaite, PhD student, Chemistry (SGC member)
  • Yingyao Hu, Professor and Chair, Economics
  • John Kim, Associate Professor, Biology
  • Anne Lester, Associate Professor, History
  • Jason Palladino, Postdoctoral Fellow, Biology 
  • Lisa Siraganian, Associate Professor and Chair, CTL

Subcommittee on Teaching and Research Track Faculty

The subcommittee will advise the dean’s office on best language and policy concerning teaching and research track faculty in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. It will consult with chairs and directors of departments, institutes, centers and programs as well as the relevant deans who are not members of this committee.


  • Richard Brown, Teaching Professor, Natural Sciences (SGC member)
  • Somasree Dasgupta, Associate Teaching Professor, Social Sciences
  • Grecia Delgado, Lecturer, Humanities
  • Lucy Bucknell, Senior Lecturer, Centers and Programs
  • Sarah O’Byrne, Senior Lecturer, AAP, Government Center (SGC member)
  • Taylor Hahn, Senior Lecturer, AAP, Communication
  • Stephan McCandless, Research Professor, Natural Sciences
  • Tom Lippincott, Assistant Research Professor, Humanities

Subcommittee on Undergraduate Education

The subcommittee will advise the dean on academic policy concerning the undergraduate curriculum in KSAS, including the creation of new curricular initiatives and on policies regarding the academic experience of undergraduates. It will consult as well on matters of mentoring, best teaching practices, student governance, climate, and student affairs. In the first two years of its formation, the subcommittee will focus especially on the future of the undergraduate curriculum and how best it can provide rigorous and innovative programs of study for undergraduates.


  • Ona Ambrozaite, Graduate Student Representative (SGC Member)
  • Emily Anderson, Assistant Professor, Classics
  • Maria Bulzacchelli, Associate Research Professor, Public Health Studies
  • Angus Burgin, Associate Professor, History
  • Emily Fisher, Associate Teaching Professor, Biology
  • Steven Gross, Professor, Philosophy
  • Kobi Khong, Undergraduate Student Representative (SGC Member)
  • David Savitt, Professor, Mathematics (SGC Member)

Faculty Senate

The role of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences (KSAS) Faculty Senate is to provide a forum for the faculty of the Krieger School to participate effectively in the process of deliberative governance of the university. Membership in the electorate of the senate is held by all faculty who have full-time or emeritus appointments in the Krieger School. Senate elections are held annually in the spring.

Homewood Academic Council

The Homewood Academic Council preserves and enhances the academic excellence of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and the Whiting School of Engineering. The Academic Council is charged to pursue this mission, whether directly or through its duly appointed subcommittees and designees.

Homewood Faculty Assembly

The Homewood Faculty Assembly provides a forum for the faculty to discuss and make recommendations concerning matters pertaining to the purposes and functioning of the University.

Krieger School Staff Council

The Krieger School of Arts and Sciences Staff Council will serve the interests of our staff to help improve the collective work environment. Learn more about the council and elections on the Staff Council Sharepoint site.