Faculty Awards

By ksascomm

Astrophysicist wins Sloan Fellowship

Brice MenardAssistant Professor Brice Menard, of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, has won a 2012 Sloan Research Fellowship to support his work on extragalactic astrophysics and cosmology. Menard aims to gain a better understanding of how dark matter is distributed in space and how galaxies form and evolve. He analyzes large data sets with millions of astronomical objects, and his work has led to the detection of gravitational magnification by dark matter around galaxies, the discovery of tiny grains of dust in the intergalactic space, and a better understanding of how light rays propagate throughout the universe.

Administered by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the fellowships aim to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise by offering two-year $50,000 grants.

Two chemistry professors named AAAS fellows

Kit BowenTwo chemistry professors from the Krieger School were among 539 people from around the world elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as an AAAS fellow honors scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Sarah WoodsonKit Hansell Bowen, the E. Emmet Reid Professor in the Department of Chemistry, was recognized for his seminal contributions to the study of gas-phase cluster anions through utilization of the negative ion photoelectron (photodetachment) spectroscopic technique.

Sarah Woodson, a professor in the Thomas C. Jenkins Department of Biophysics, was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of biophysical chemistry, particularly for elucidation of RNA folding pathways and structural dynamics.

Biophysicist wins Humboldt Research Award

George RoseGeorge Rose, the Krieger-Eisenhower Professor in the Department of Biophysics, was awarded a Humboldt Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Germany. The awards are granted to researchers who have made significant discoveries in their disciplines. Winners spend up to a year cooperating on a long-term research project with colleagues at a research institution in Germany. Rose will spend the year as the Honorary Hans Fischer Senior Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study in the Technical University of Munich, where he will collaborate with Professor Thomas Kiefhaber on projects involving protein folding.

Three professors win Simons Fellowships

Spruck, Sogge, and Robbins

From left to right: Joel Spruck, Christopher Sogge, Mark Robbins

Christopher Sogge and Joel Spruck from the Department of Mathematics, and Mark Robbins, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, have been awarded 2012 Simons Fellowships. The fellowship provides support to faculty for up to a semester-long research leave. During the leave, Sogge, the J. J. Sylvester Professor of Mathematics, will conduct research on global harmonic analysis and partial differential equations, and Spruck will study fully nonlinear elliptic equations and applications to geometry. Robbins plans to visit the active soft condensed matter groups at the University of Pennsylvania and New York University, as well as experts in polymer science at The Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research in Mainz, Germany, and at the Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands.