Faculty Awards

By ksascomm


Peter Armitage, associate professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was awarded the 2016 Ludwig-Genzel Prize for his contribution to the field of condensed matter spectroscopy.

Charles Bennett, the Alumni Centennial Professor of Physics and Astronomy and Gilman Scholar in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, has been named a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor. He is the first BDP to hold a joint appointment with the Applied Physics Laboratory and will direct a new space studies initiative called Space@Hopkins.

Howard Egeth, professor in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, was honored by the Federation of Associations in Behavioral and Brain Sciences for his contributions to the field.

Karen Fleming, professor in the Department of Biophysics, is the recipient of the 2016 Thomas E. Thompson Award from the Biophysical Society for her contribution in the field of membrane structure and assembly.

Marc Kamionkowski, William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has been elected a Fellow of the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation for his contributions to contemporary cosmology and general relativity.

Mitchell Merback, professor and chair in the Department of the History of Art, won a 2016 fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. He will use the fellowship to work on a research project called Recognitions: Visual Poetics and Narrative Experience in Medieval and Renaissance Art.

Beverly Wendland, the James B. Knapp Dean of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and professor in the Department of Biology, was elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science by her peers “for groundbreaking studies on the genetic, molecular, biochemical, and biophysical mechanisms underlying endocytosis.”