Faculty Awards

By kvitare1@johnshopkins.edu

news-column-1-230x200Charles Bennett, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Alumni Centennial Professor, Physics and Astronomy, was chosen to receive the 2016 Space Science Award from the Committee on Space Research, which was chartered by the International Council for Science. The award was given for his leadership of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP).

Xin Chen, Associate Professor, Biology, was one of 84 early-career scientists chosen to receive a Faculty Scholar Award from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Simons Foundation, and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. The award is given to scientists who have “great potential to make unique contributions to their field.”

Andrew Cherlin, Benjamin H. Griswold III Professor of Public Policy, was among 84 new members elected to the National Academy of Sciences, in recognition of his distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

N.D.B. Connolly, Herbert Baxter Adams Associate Professor, History, had his book, A World More Concrete: Real Estate and the Remaking of Jim Crow South Florida, chosen as this year’s winner of the Southern Historical Association’s Bennett H. Wall Award for the best book on southern business or economic history published in the preceding two years.

Hent de Vries, Russ Family Chair in the Humanities, has been appointed as the 2018 Titulaire de la Chaire de Metaphysique Etienne Gilson at the Institut Catholique in Paris. The endowed chair and lecture series commemorates the work of the 20th- century medievalist and Descartes specialist, Etienne Gilson.

Timothy Heckman, Dr. A. Hermann Pfund Professor, Physics and Astronomy, was among 84 new members elected to the National Academy of Sciences, in recognition of his distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Rigoberto Hernandez, Gompf Family Professor, Chemistry, received the 2016 Research Corporation for Science Advancement’s Transformational Research and Excellence in Education Award, which recognizes and advances “truly outstanding research and education.”

David Kaplan, Professor, Physics and Astronomy, received the inaugural Stephen Hawking Medal for Science Communication for his role as producer of the documentary Particle Fever. The award is given for important contributions in communicating science.

Margaret Keck, Emerita and Academy Professor, Political Science, received the Elinor Ostrom Science Technology and Environmental Politics Career Achievement Award from the American Political Science Association.

Rebekka Klausen, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, was given the 2016 Braude Award by the Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society. It is given to an outstanding chemistry professor who is conducting research with the assistance of undergraduates.

John Quah, Professor, Economics, was elected a Fellow of the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory.

Lawrence Principe, Drew Professor of the Humanities, received the Prix Franklin-Lavoisier, awarded once every two years by the Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie in Paris and co-sponsored by the Chemical Heritage Foundation in Philadelphia. It is given to someone who holds “a unique place in the global chemistry community.”

Daniel Schlozman, Assistant Professor, Political Science, received the Charles Tilly Award from the American Sociological Association for his book, When Movements Anchor Parties: Electoral Alignments in American History.

Rosemary Wyse, Professor, Physics and Astronomy, received the 2016 Dirk Brouwer Award by the Division on Dynamical Astronomy of the American Astronomical Society for her role in advancing our understanding of the structure, dynamics, and formation history of the Milky Way and its satellites.

Nino Zschomelidse, Associate Professor, History of Art, won the 2015 Howard R. Marraro Prize from the American Catholic Historical Association for her book Art, Ritual, and Civic Identity in Medieval Southern Italy.