Stephen Nichols Named AAAS Fellow

  • Posted on:
  • Posted in: News

Stephen Nichols, a professor of French and humanities who specializes in medieval literature, art, and history, is among the 198 new members elected to the 2013 class of American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a group that includes past winners of the Nobel Prize; the National Medal of Science; the Lasker Award; Pulitzer and Shaw prizes; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Nichols will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 12 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass., alongside other new fellows, including Timothy Heckman and Mark Kamionkowski from the school’s Department of Physics and Astronomy; Bruce A. Beutler, recipient of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; David J. Wineland, winner of the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics; actors Robert De Niro and Sally Field; Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Annie Dillard; operatic soprano Renée Fleming; jazz musician Herbie Hancock; singer-songwriters Pete Seeger and Bruce Springsteen; Senator Richard Lugar; and astronaut, former Senator, and Presidential Medal of Freedom winner John Glenn.

The new members bring the number of AAAS members currently on the Johns Hopkins faculty to 51.

A complete list of the new members can be viewed here.