Seven New Members Inducted into the Academy

  • Posted on:
  • Posted in: news

The Academy at Johns Hopkins welcomes into its ranks a record seven new faculty members from the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. An institute for advanced study, the Academy allows retired professors to pursue research opportunities, conduct and attend academic seminars, and explore other opportunities for continued scholarship. Representing fields ranging from experimental high energy physics to economic theory to social anthropology, these newly retired professors will join 11 colleagues to bring the number of Academy members to 18.

Bruce Barnett, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, came to Hopkins in 1976. His current research is high energy proton-proton collisions within the CMS experiment at the CERN Large Hadron Collider. A fellow of the American Physical Society, he was the recipient of the 2007 Outstanding Faculty Award from the Maryland Association of Higher Education and has served as the chair of the JHU Graduate Board as well as both vice chairman and acting chairman of his department.

Matthew Crenson ’63, began teaching in the Department of Political Science in 1969 and became a professor emeritus in Urban Government and American Political Development, his primary areas of interest, in 2007. Crenson has authored or co-authored several books including Downsizing Democracy, Building the Invisible Orphanage, and Presidential Power: Unchecked and Unbalanced.

Jane Guyer joined the Department of Anthropology in 2002, having served previously on the faculties of Northwestern, Harvard, and Boston University. Her research career has been devoted to economic transformations in West Africa, particularly the productive economy, the division of labor, and the management of money. Theoretically she focuses on the interface between formal and informal economies, and particularly, the instabilities that interface gives rise to.

Michael Johnson has been a member of the Department of History faculty since 1994. His research concentrates on the social and political history of 19th-century America, particularly from about 1790 to about 1870. He has written about the history of secession, slavery, free African Americans, Abraham Lincoln, and the Civil War. His current research focuses on slave insurrections, fugitive slaves, black migration, and slaveholders.

Franklin W. Knight joined the Department of History in 1973 and in 1991 was appointed the Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Professor of History. He also held an appointment as director of the Center for Africana Studies. Knight’s research interests focus on social, political, and cultural aspects of Latin America and the Caribbean, especially after the 18th century, as well as on American slave systems in their comparative dimensions.

Ruth Leys has been a member of the Krieger School faculty since 1975 and has served as a professor in both the Humanities Center and the Department of History. Trained in the physiological and psychological sciences at Oxford University, she holds a doctorate in history of science from Harvard University. Her work focuses on different aspects of the history of the life sciences, especially the neurosciences, psychoanalysis, and psychiatry.

Alan Shapiro is a classical archaeologist with a particular interest in Greek art, myth, and religion in the Archaic and Classical periods. He joined the Department of Classics in 1997. Shapiro has written numerous studies of Greek vase iconography. His interest in the interrelationship among art, religion, and politics is best represented in his book Art and Cult Under the Tyrants in Athens. He is currently working on a study of hero cults in 5th-century Athens.