The Academy Welcomes Five New Members

  • Posted on:
  • Posted in: news

The Academy at Johns Hopkins welcomes five new faculty members from the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. An institute for advanced study, the Academy allows retired professors to pursue research opportunities, conduct and attend academic seminars, and explore other opportunities for continued scholarship. The Academy now has 29 members.

Toby Ditz is a historian of early America and the British Atlantic world. Her teaching and research interests include cultural history, the history of commerce and markets, and the history of women, and gender, and masculinity. She has been part of the Department of History at Johns Hopkins since 1982.

Alice McDermott is the Richard A. Macksey Professor of the Humanities at Johns Hopkins. Her eighth novel, The Ninth Hour, was a finalist for the 2017 Kirkus Prize for Fiction, and for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Three of her previous novels were finalists for the Pulitzer Prize.

George D. Rose joined the Department of Biophysics in 1997. He also holds a joint appointment with the Department of Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry at the School of Medicine. His research focuses on theoretical approaches to protein folding.

Bernard Shiffman has been a faculty member in the Department of Mathematics at Johns Hopkins since 1977. From 1993-2005, he was editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Mathematics. His research is centered around complex geometry and analysis.

Darrell Strobel joined the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences in 1984. He also holds a joint appointment as professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. He specializes in planetary atmospheres and solar system astrophysics.