Loading Events

« All Events

Raúl Zibechi: Constructing Worlds Otherwise

April 17 @ 7:00 pm 8:30 pm

Red Emma’s Bookstore (3128 Greenmount Ave)

The Program in Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx Studies is pleased to welcome journalist Raúl Zibechi for a conversation about his forthcoming book,

Constructing Worlds Otherwise: Societies in Movement and Anticolonial Paths in Latin America

(AK Press, 2024). Translated by George Ygarza Quispe.

A new collection from one of Latin America’s most dynamic radical thinkers—in the tradition of Frantz Fanon and Eduardo Galeano.

Through a survey of the most marginalized voices across Latin America—feminists, the Indigenous, people of African descent, and inhabitants of urban favelas and rural towns—Zibechi introduces the Anglo world to a range of critical perspectives and new forms of struggle in Peru, Mexico, Brazil, Colombia, and Bolivia. His book contributes to global geographies of autonomous and anti-state thinking, including that of the revolutionaries in Rojava and Abdullah Öcalan, ideological theorist of Kurdish resistance, for a rich and dynamic survey of movements of nonstate power. Constructing Worlds Otherwise comes at a time when the global left—struggling to expand its vision in an era of climate chaos and rising authoritarianism—finds itself at an impasse, desperate to animate and renew its critical imaginary.

Raúl Zibechi is a Uruguayan writer, popular educator, and journalist. He writes for La JornadaDesinformémonos, and NACLA Report on the Americas, among other outlets. Zibechi has published numerous books, including Dispersing PowerTerritories in Resistance, and The New Brazil.

George Ygarza Quispe is a popular educator, translator, and organic researcher who has worked in Peru and across North America, thinking through hemispheric undercurrents. He also holds a PhD in Global Studies.

Zibechi
xr:d:DAGBmZ5PP6g:27,j:7182539533505624874,t:24040614