People

  • faculty advisory board

  • Beverly Silver

    Director, Arrighi Center for Global Studies
    Professor, Department of Sociology

    PhD, SUNY, Binghamton
    • 410-516-7635
    • silver@jhu.edu
    • Mergenthaler 513
    • Research Interests: Historical capitalism, comparative and world-historical research methods, global inequality and development, labor and social movements
  • Sara Berry

    Professor Emeritus, Department of History

    PhD, University of Michigan
  • Ho-Fung Hung

    Professor, Department of Sociology

    PhD, Johns Hopkins University
    • 410-516-7051
    • hofung@jhu.edu
    • Mergenthaler 523
    • Research Interests: Global political economy, contentious politics, nationalism, and social theory
  • M. Ali Khan

    Abram Hutzler Professor of Political Economy, Department of Economics

    PhD, Yale University
    • 410-516-8545
    • akhan@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park 528
    • Research Interests: Mathematical economics, economic theory, history of economic thought, international and development economics
  • Christopher Nealon

    Professor and Chair, Department of English

    PhD, Cornell University
    • 410-516-6046
    • nealon@jhu.edu
    • Gilman 18
    • Research Interests: American literature, aesthetic theory, poetry and poetics, intellectual history
  • Deborah Poole

    Professor, Department of Anthropology (on leave)

    PhD, University of Illinois
    • 410-516-5228
    • dpoole@jhu.edu
    • Mergenthlaer 469
    • Research Interests: Historical and ethnographic study of politics, Latin America
  • Erica Schoenberger

    Professor, Department of Geography Environmental Engineering, Whiting School of Engineering

    PhD, University of California, Berkeley
    • 410-516-6158
    • ericas@jhu.edu
    • Ames 501
    • Research Interests: Economic geography, environmental history, environmental politics and policy, history of mining, history of the automobile, interdisciplinary scientific collaboration
  • Robbie Shilliam

    Professor, Department of Political Science

    PhD, University of Sussex
    • 410-516-0875
    • r.shilliam@jhu.edu
    • Mergenthaler 341
    • Research Interests: The political and intellectual complicities of colonialism and race in global order
  • Lester Spence

    Associate Professor, Department of Political Science

    PhD, University of Michigan
    • 410-516-7537
    • unbowed@gmail.com
    • Mergenthaler 273
    • Research Interests: American politics, black politics, race and politics, urban politics, American political behavior and public opinion
  • research scientists

  • Sahan Savas Karatasli

    Assistant Research Scientist and Lecturer

    PhD
    • skaratasli@jhu.edu
    • 260 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Comparative-historical sociology, historical capitalism, social movements, nationalism, global social change and development, global inequality
  • Sefika Kumral

    PhD; GSP Coordinator

    • 443-255-4912
    • skumral1@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Social movements, ethnicity/ethnic conflict, political sociology; extreme right, democratization, development
  • Daniel Pasciuti

    Assistant Research Scientist

    PhD
    • 443-869-3121
    • pasciuti@jhu.edu
    • United States
    • Research Interests: Historical and contemporary forms of urbanization and urban development, urban governance, comparative-historical sociology, historical capitalism, global social change and development, global inequality