People

Filter by Position or Title:

faculty advisory board

Beverly Silver

Beverly Silver

Director, Arrighi Center for Global Studies
Professor, Department of Sociology

PhD, SUNY, Binghamton

Mergenthaler 513
410-516-7635
silver@jhu.edu

Research Interests: Historical capitalism, comparative and world-historical research methods, global inequality and development, labor and social movements

Zophia Edwards

Zophia Edwards

Assistant Professor

PhD, Boston University

Mergenthaler 560
zedward2@jhu.edu

Research Interests:  Impacts of colonialism and multiracial labor movements on state formation and human development in the Global South

Ho-Fung Hung

Ho-Fung Hung

Professor, Department of Sociology

PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Mergenthaler 523
410-516-7051
hofung@jhu.edu

Research Interests: Global political economy, contentious politics, nationalism, and social theory

M. Ali Khan

M. Ali Khan

Abram Hutzler Professor of Political Economy, Department of Economics

PhD, Yale University

Wyman Park 528
410-516-8545
akhan@jhu.edu

Research Interests: Mathematical economics, economic theory, history of economic thought, international and development economics

Christopher Nealon

Christopher Nealon

Professor and Chair, Department of English

PhD, Cornell University

Gilman 18
410-516-6046
nealon@jhu.edu

Research Interests: American literature, aesthetic theory, poetry and poetics, intellectual history

Robbie Shilliam

Robbie Shilliam

Professor, Department of Political Science

PhD, University of Sussex

Mergenthaler 341
410-516-0875
r.shilliam@jhu.edu

Research Interests: The political and intellectual complicities of colonialism and race in global order

Lester Spence

Lester Spence

Professor, Department of Political Science

PhD, University of Michigan

Mergenthaler 273
410-516-7537
unbowed@gmail.com

Research Interests: American politics, black politics, race and politics, urban politics, American political behavior and public opinion

research scientists

Sahan Savas Karatasli

Sahan Savas Karatasli

Assistant Research Scientist

PhD

260 Mergenthaler
skaratasli@jhu.edu

Research Interests: Comparative-historical sociology, historical capitalism, social movements, nationalism, global social change and development, global inequality

Sefika Kumral

Sefika Kumral

Assistant Research Scientist

Ph.D.

skumral1@jhu.edu

Research Interests: Social movements, ethnicity/ethnic conflict, political sociology; extreme right, democratization, development

Daniel Pasciuti

Daniel Pasciuti

Assistant Research Scientist

PhD

United States
pasciuti@jhu.edu

Research Interests: Historical and contemporary forms of urbanization and urban development, urban governance, comparative-historical sociology, historical capitalism, global social change and development, global inequality

No matching results