Nu Rho Psi

The Johns Hopkins University Undergraduate Society for Neuroscience, Nu Rho Psi, draws its founding principles from the Society for Neuroscience, including its “scientific, educational, literary, [and] charitable” purposes. The society is a gathering of neuroscience students and faculty devoted to the study of the cellular and molecular processes, the biological networks of the nervous system, computational approaches to the mind, and the phenomena of cognition.

Our Mission

Nu Rho Psi is a student organization dedicated to discovery through collaboration and creating opportunities for students to become involved individuals. Our organization draws its founding principles from the Society for Neuroscience to advance the understanding of the nervous system, provide member development opportunities and educational resources, and promote general education. We aim to nurture the intellectual and ethical strength of our members and generate a collaborative network for both the present and the future.

Our Goals

  • A strong endorsement of independent research and facilitation of its reporting
  • A commitment to the general community, contributing through
    educational programs and supporting beneficial public policy initiatives
  • Aiding the operations of the Undergraduate Program in
    Neuroscience and David S. Olton Behavioral Biology Programs
  • Advancing the organization through public relations and fundraising

Nu Rho Psi is divided into four different areas:

  • Research
  • Community Service
  • Neuroscience Program Interface
  • Public Relations

How to Join Nu Rho Psi – Apply Now

View the Nu Rho Psi informational brochure and handbook for more information and then complete and submit the application by the deadline below.

Fall 2019 Deadline: Sunday, September 15th at 11:59 PM.

2019-2020 Board Members

Co-President
Gavin Li
yli237@jhu.edu

Co-President
Charles Liu
cliu115@jhu.edu

Internal Vice President
Caitlin McBride
cmcbri13@jhu.edu

External Vice President
Amanda Maytin
amaytin1@jhu.edu

Treasurer
Aishwarya Pradeep
apradee1@jhu.edu

Secretary
Daniel Soto
dsoto2@jhu.edu

Social Media Director
Grace Xu
cxu29@jhu.edu

Director of Alumni Relations
Elena Hughes
ehughe15@jhu.edu

2019-2020 Chair Members

URS Chairs

Kristen Park
kpark38@jhu.edu

Yoona Cheong
ycheong5@jhu.edu

BAW Chairs

Sonia Lin
slin64@jhu.edu

Epiphany Chua
echua3@jhu.edu

CTY Chairs

Paul Casey Emerson
pemerso1@jhu.edu

Kiara Bowers
kbower12@jhu.edu

GCN Chairs

Courtney Whilden
cwhilde1@jhu.edu

Kriti Lalwani
klalwan3@jhu.edu

EL: KKI Chairs

Ami Tamhaney
atamhan2@jhu.edu

Defne Alver
dalver1@jhu.edu

EL: Autism and other Neurological Disorders (KEEN) Chairs

Amith Umesh
aumesh2@jhu.edu

Kai Inoki
kinoki1@jhu.edu

Faculty Adviser: Jason Trageser

Administrative Advisers:
Linda White
Kelly Thammavong