Nu Rho Psi

The Johns Hopkins University Undergraduate Society for Neuroscience, Nu Rho Psi, draws its founding principles from the Society for Neuroscience, including its “scientific, educational, literary, [and] charitable” purposes. The society is a gathering of neuroscience students and faculty devoted to the study of the cellular and molecular processes, the biological networks of the nervous system, computational approaches to the mind, and the phenomena of cognition.

Our Mission

Nu Rho Psi is a student organization dedicated to discovery through collaboration and creating opportunities for students to become involved individuals. Our organization draws its founding principles from the Society for Neuroscience to advance the understanding of the nervous system, provide member development opportunities and educational resources, and promote general education. We aim to nurture the intellectual and ethical strength of our members and generate a collaborative network for both the present and the future.

Our Goals

  • A strong endorsement of independent research and facilitation of its reporting
  • A commitment to the general community, contributing through
    educational programs and supporting beneficial public policy initiatives
  • Aiding the operations of the Undergraduate Program in
    Neuroscience and David S. Olton Behavioral Biology Programs
  • Advancing the organization through public relations and fundraising

Nu Rho Psi is divided into four different areas:

  • Research
  • Community Service
  • Neuroscience Program Interface
  • Public Relations

How to Join Nu Rho Psi – Apply Now

View the Nu Rho Psi informational brochure and handbook for more information and then complete and submit the application by the deadline below.

Fall 2019 Deadline: Sunday, September 15th at 11:59 PM.

2019-2020 Board Members

Gavin Li

Charles Liu

Internal Vice President
Caitlin McBride

External Vice President
Amanda Maytin

Aishwarya Pradeep

Daniel Soto

Social Media Director
Grace Xu

Director of Alumni Relations
Elena Hughes

2019-2020 Chair Members

URS Chairs

Kristen Park

Yoona Cheong

BAW Chairs

Sonia Lin

Paul Casey Emerson

CTY Chairs

Paul Casey Emerson

Kiara Bowers

GCN Chairs

Courtney Whilden

Kriti Lalwani

EL: KKI Chairs

Ami Tamhaney

Defne Alver

EL: Autism and other Neurological Disorders (KEEN) Chairs

Amith Umesh

Kai Inoki

Faculty Adviser: Jason Trageser

Administrative Advisers:
Linda White
Kelly Thammavong