Nu Rho Psi

The Johns Hopkins University Undergraduate Society for Neuroscience, Nu Rho Psi, draws its founding principles from the Society for Neuroscience, including its “scientific, educational, literary, [and] charitable” purposes. The society is a gathering of neuroscience students and faculty devoted to the study of the cellular and molecular processes, the biological networks of the nervous system, computational approaches to the mind, and the phenomena of cognition.

Our Mission

Nu Rho Psi is a student organization dedicated to discovery through collaboration and creating opportunities for students to become involved individuals. Our organization draws its founding principles from the Society for Neuroscience to advance the understanding of the nervous system, provide member development opportunities and educational resources, and promote general education. We aim to nurture the intellectual and ethical strength of our members and generate a collaborative network for both the present and the future.

Our Goals

  • A strong endorsement of independent research and facilitation of its reporting
  • A commitment to the general community, contributing through
    educational programs and supporting beneficial public policy initiatives
  • Aiding the operations of the Undergraduate Program in
    Neuroscience and David S. Olton Behavioral Biology Programs
  • Advancing the organization through public relations and fundraising

Nu Rho Psi is divided into four different areas:

  • Research
  • Community Service
  • Neuroscience Program Interface
  • Public Relations

How to Join Nu Rho Psi – Apply Now

View the Nu Rho Psi informational brochure and handbook for more information and then complete and submit the application by the deadline below.

Fall 2018 deadline: September 17, 2018

2018-2019 Board Members

Co-President
Charlotte Kwok
ckwok2@jhu.edu

Co-President
Kumar Muthukumar
smuthuk1@jhu.edu

Internal Vice President
Jonathan Anderson
jande153@jhu.edu

External Vice President
Michael Peters
mpeter66@jhu.edu

Treasurer
Alexander Sigmon
asigmon1@jhu.edu

Secretary
Gavin Li
yli237@jhu.edu

Social Media Director
Brielle Smith
bsmit165@jhu.edu

2018-2019 Chair Members

URS Chairs

Amolika Gupta
agupta76@jhu.edu

Kevin Peng
kpeng7@jhu.edu

BAW Chairs

Amanda Maytin
amaytin1@jhu.edu

Anne Li
ali43@jhu.edu

CTY Chairs

Bruce Nguyen Tran
hnguye73@jhu.edu

Mohika Nagpal
mnagpal1@jhu.edu

EL: STEM in the Classroom (MNF) Chairs

Erin Kong
hkong4@jhu.edu

Maya Foster
mfoste21@jhu.edu

EL: KKI Chairs

Ami Tamhaney
atamhan2@jhu.edu

Defne Alver
dalver1@jhu.edu

EL: Autism and other Neurological Disorders (KEEN) Chairs

Alexandria Soto
asoto8@jhu.edu

Amith Umesh
aumesh2@jhu.edu

Faculty Adviser: Linda Gorman

Administrative Advisers:
Linda White
Kelly Thammavong